Dear future wife,

I’ve spent a lot of time giving out some random musings over the qualities I wish you to have. What can I say, I’m a hopeless romantic, it happens. In case you’ve not seen all of my status updates over the past couple years that talk about this, I figured I would try to put a few here for easy reference. First of all, I want you to know that no matter what happens, no matter what we go through, I will always be there and will always love you. Nothing would ever stop the passion of emotion that will fill my heart for you. Nothing will ever rob you of the expression that I’ll give to let you know you are desired and wanted. But just for fun, here are a few things I look for …

Dear future wife, please like baseball. I’m not saying that you have to be die hard about it, and I’m not even saying you have to be  a Red Sox fan. But when it comes to baseball there are a few things I ask. Let’s go to a few games throughout the season. There’s nothing more calming than a beautiful summer afternoon at the ballpark cheering on the home team. I don’t mind teaching you the game and what everything means, but after a few seasons I hope that you catch on 😉 … Also, and this is probably the most important, don’t ever .. EVER .. cheer for the New York Yankees. I will have to dig up some divorce papers if that were the case.

Dear future wife, let’s be spontaneous. I know that there are responsibilities that need taken care of, and trust me, I will make sure that those things get done. But after a long week, let’s take a random weekend trip somewhere. Even if all we do is go to the next city and get a room at a five star hotel. No matter what it is – we need to have getaways and random outings. So don’t be surprised if I come home one day and tell you to pack your bags for a three day trip of awesomeness … and only give you an hour to do it 😉 hehe

Dear future wife, you know those cool summer nights when the breeze is just right and the skies are crystal clear? How about we drive out to some back country roads, find a nice pasture (hopefully without trespassing) and lay out to look at the stars while we talk about the most random retarded things we can think of. It’s the simple things in life that make living worth while, and I want to have those simple pleasures with you – nothing but you, me, and some open country skies.

Dear future wife, you should know now that I’m a huge book nerd. I love to read. I currently have over a hundred books in my library and it’s constantly growing. I vote that we sit outside with a big glass of sweet tea and have some relaxing time reading books together while listening to the tunes of Jack Johnson, Jason Mraz, Michael Buble and Frank Sinatra. Also, knowing that you read too is a plus because it means you’re also an intellect and I can actually have some good in depth conversations with you about philosophy, theology, random theories, history, anything … Like I said, I’m a nerd 🙂

Dear future wife, one of my favorite things is stormy weather. The best is when it’s raining really hard, the wind is howling, and the thunder makes the walls of the house shake a little bit. Days/nights like this, let’s curl up on the couch and watch movies all day/night. It’s perfect movie weather. And should the storm knock the electricity out, well, I’m sure we can think of something else to do …

Dear future wife, I want you to know now that I will never bad mouth you in front of anyone. Whether you are with me or not, I will always lift you up. This extends into the times that you and I have problems, fight, have disagreements and blow up on each other .. Yes, it’ll happen, but you should know that it will not hinder the way I speak of you. Not to my family, not to my friends, not even to a confidant with whom I would normally seek advice from .. Anything that goes on with you and I, will stay between you and I. Never will I taint the image that anyone has on you by venting frustrations to someone outside of our marriage. I will respect you way too much for that … And I will hope you would have the same mutual respect for me. That means not going to your mother about stuff we go through 😉 haha

Dear future wife, I’m no five star chef, but I do love to cook. I like to experiment with new dishes and I like to get messy when I cook. I think it would be really fun to cook together .. just have fun with it and make the kitchen really messy. Don’t you worry, my darling, I will help clean up too. As a matter of fact, I will clean the kitchen so you can go relax in the tub after we destroy everything with grease, spaghetti sauce, flour, and who knows what else.

Dear future wife, please have a passion for Jesus and the church. My life is the ministry and I plan on pursuing everything that God calls me to do. He is my first love, my first devotion and to whom my allegiance stands. I would greatly appreciate your involvement in ministry, your insight on spiritual matters, and of course I will count on you as my spiritual support as well. You’re my first lady, we are in this side by side – I don’t want to be in the spotlight with you in the background, no, I want a ministry together with you. And let me just tell you this right now, if you ever make me choose between you and my walk with God, you will lose. Without question or consideration. So before you commit your life to me, be sure you’ve first committed your life to Christ.

Dear future wife, with the exception of the previous paragraph, I want you to know that all of the rest of these are something that I know are not guaranteed in your personality. With my luck, you’ll be the complete opposite of them all, but I want you to know that I will still love you. I will still adore you. I will still spoil you like no other. And at the end of the day, you’ll still be the woman who makes me want to be a better version of myself … and honestly, that’s all that matters. So until then, let me just say … I love you.

