Anyone who knows me knows that I’ve grown up in the church. For those who truly know me, you know that I’ve only been saved for about 7 years. If you’re good at math (even if you’re not) you will notice that this doesn’t really add up. But contrary to popular belief, just because I believed that there was a God, and just because I went to church and went through the motions, and just because my grandfather has been my pastor all of my life – that doesn’t mean I’m saved. Sadly though, this is the mentality of “The Church”.

In my (almost) 26 years of existence I’ve come to realize a thing or two about “The Church”. Now, I know that what I am about to spill isn’t exactly a blanket theory on all of the Church, and thankfully there are some true Christians out there. But what I am saying, is that the majority of westernized Christianity gives people the mindset that all you have to do is show up to a building at a designated time – and then you can get up off those padded pews, and walk out those double doors unchanged, and still be considered a Christian. If you read my Confessions post about a month ago, you’ll realize that I’m by no means claiming to be a perfect Christian. Hell, I’ve denied Christ with my actions quite often. I’m not being a Pharisee here trying to point the finger at other’s downfalls while overlooking my own paralysis. But I do feel that there is a growing problem within the Christian community of America. This problem is conformity.

Now, Romans 12:2 tells us very directly to not conform to the patterns of this world – and that’s good advice. But I’m here today to tell you, do not also conform to the patterns of the church. American theology has become complacent at best, lazy by routine, and apathetic on a weekly basis. We overlook Christ’s command that in order to be His disciples we must sacrifice our very lives and follow Him. Instead, we take this command as more of a suggestion. Oh, Christ must only be talking to ministers and pastors – He’s not talking to us in the congregation, right? We take Christ’s question of “Who do you say that I am?” and change it to, “Who do you want me to be?” American theology has taken the discipline of discipleship and transformed it into the lethargic of the laity. We have become lazy, Church. And I say “we” because I am part of this Church. I will be the first to admit that I have not done all that I can do, or that I have not used my service to the highest potential.

But this is my warning, as a call of clarity to every person who claims the name of Christ – do not profess His name with your lips, then deny His name with your lifestyle. If you are not living the life of cross-bearing discipleship, you are not doing as Christ commanded to attain eternal life. What exactly is cross-bearing? That means you put service before self – you don’t do things that are only convenient for you, but you do things that are in the best interest of those around you. That means that you love others as you love yourself – in the same fashion of respect that you have for yourself, you show that to those around you. That means that as hard as it is (and I know it’s hard) to forgive those who have trespassed against you – you must swallow that pill called pride, and forgive them, just as God has forgiven you for your many, many, MANY trespasses against Him. Yes, Ephesians 2:8-10 says that all you have to do is believe in Christ to be saved, but don’t close the Bible there – because James 2:17-19 says that your faith, if not accompanied by ACTION is dead. Even the demons have faith and believe in Christ! In other words, if you’re a Christian – act like it!

I don’t know about you, but I am tired of a lazy theology. I am tired of a convenient Jesus. I am tired of a chill-back, seeker-sensitive Church. I am sick and tired of seeing the same congregation struggling with the same issues, going through the same problems, and not walking in the authority and discipline that Christ has commanded them to. The traditions of this religion we call Christianity has put out the fire of the passion that Christ calls the Church. We are more than this. We are meant to do more than this. Stop complaining about inconvenience, get over yourself, and do what you are called to do. Christianity isn’t supposed to be a pansy religion – so stop acting like one.

